Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2009, 02:11 PM
Walker's Avatar
Walker Walker is offline
Standard of Excellence
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cave Creek AZ
Posts: 4,386
Default Hypertherm 600 problem solved

A wee while back I was having intermittent trouble with my plasma cutter. I had attributed it to a faulty ground clamp (why oh why can't they put decent clamps on metal working equipment from the start???) so I would grind a shiny patch on the steel first and that seemed to work. Then it got worse, so I took the wire off the clamp and sanded that, and that seemed to work for a while, then it got worse and then quit altogether. The picture explaes what I found. The wire where it came out if the ground clamp was completely severd and had been arcing internally for some time, untill it had burned away the last strand. I nee to put a small length of rubber tubing or such over the last bit of wire so it does not do that again.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Hose reel 004.jpg
Views:	210
Size:	60.2 KB
ID:	41262  
__________________
Walker
Chief slag chipper and floor sweeper, Ironwood Artistic
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-04-2009, 03:10 PM
dubby's Avatar
dubby dubby is offline
Director: Fish Seduction
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 9,394
Default

That'll do it I reckon!


Wow...
__________________
I've always had more time than money.

Wade's Custom Kydex
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2009, 04:54 PM
panhandle_redneck's Avatar
panhandle_redneck panhandle_redneck is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: panhandle of TEXAS
Posts: 528
Default

How old is your machine?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2009, 05:07 PM
Walker's Avatar
Walker Walker is offline
Standard of Excellence
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cave Creek AZ
Posts: 4,386
Default

10 yearsish. Don't get me wrong I am not saying it was the machines fault or poor quality or anything like that, just a pain! The quality comment with the ground clamps applies more to my MM welders that all came with that stamped steel POS clamp that does nothing but cause problems, until I figured out to just replace them with the brass/copper 300 amp jobs.
__________________
Walker
Chief slag chipper and floor sweeper, Ironwood Artistic
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2009, 05:35 PM
dubby's Avatar
dubby dubby is offline
Director: Fish Seduction
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 9,394
Default

Ya know, on my HH175 I was fortunate that it didn't have a clamp on it when I picked it out of it's hole in the pawn shop. The first thing I did was install a heavy clamp and I've never had a problem since.
__________________
I've always had more time than money.

Wade's Custom Kydex
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2009, 11:05 PM
Bolt Bolt is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,267
Default

I think the clamp on my MM251 sucks. The one that came with the Maxstar 150 is pretty good actually. It at least has a braided wire between the jaws to double your chances of a good ground. I just put a new magnetic switch ground clamp on my Bobcat 250, the other one had been run over one too many times. I'll have to see how it lasts, I hope it does, I do allot of pipe with it, so it is handy to slap on there instead of trying to clamp onto a piece of pipe. 2 3/8 is the max most clamps will do with some fidgeting.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-2009, 11:42 PM
cramd's Avatar
cramd cramd is offline
Drivin' Fool
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yorkton, Saskatchewan,Canada
Posts: 4,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bolt View Post
I'll have to see how it lasts, I hope it does, I do allot of pipe with it, so it is handy to slap on there instead of trying to clamp onto a piece of pipe. 2 3/8 is the max most clamps will do with some fidgeting.
What most of the rig welders on the crews I worked with used for a pipe ground, was a piece of re-bar (or something similar) bent into a horseshoe shape with the ends slightly flared out, and a bolt welded on top to connect to the eye on the ground cable.Different sizes for different pipe diameters,quick to slap on the pipe, and relatively quick to change. Cheap to make. too.

Dave
__________________
Miller Thunderbolt XL AC/DC
Hobart Handler 190
Angle grinders,14" chop saw,Hobart medium duty O/A set
Some air tools,fair selection of hand tools,and other "stuff"
____________________________________________

The difference between genius and stupidity, is that genius has limits. Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-05-2009, 01:38 AM
ace4059 ace4059 is offline
Tender Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Posts: 819
Default

When a company puts cheap clamps on the welder or plasma then thats there way of saving a little money. The best factory clamp that I have seen on a machine was the one on my 350P. I still replaced it with a cooper clamp. The only thing was the cooper clamp was hard to open (still is) but atleast I know it is a good tight ground, and it does get very hot when welding 300+ amps for awhile.

I looked into buying the HOG clamp that looks like a 11R vise grip will a cooper pad on one side, but it was just as cheap as the factory clamp, so I passed on it.
__________________
Lincoln Pt 225
Lincoln PM 215
Lincoln Buzz Box

Hypertherm 600
HH125 EZ
MM 350P
TB 302



Quote:
Originally Posted by Shade Tree Welder View Post
Calling an illegal alien an "undocumented immigrant" is like calling a drug dealer an unlicensed pharmacist.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-05-2009, 01:48 AM
Paychk's Avatar
Paychk Paychk is offline
Project Phoenix
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Junction City, OR
Posts: 2,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ace4059 View Post
I still replaced it with a cooper clamp. The only thing was the cooper clamp was hard to open (still is) but atleast I know it is a good tight ground, and it does get very hot when welding 300+ amps for awhile.
Got a picture of that thing and maybe a part #?
__________________
Ory-gun Boy!

Millermatic 200 w/ SKP-35 Spot Pulse Weld Panel, Tweco MIG-GUN #2, running ER70S-6 .035 wire on CO2, Spoolmatic 1 Spool Gun
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-05-2009, 02:37 AM
ace4059 ace4059 is offline
Tender Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Posts: 819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paychk View Post
Got a picture of that thing and maybe a part #?
here is a pic of one
https://weldingsupply.securesites.co...+Ground+Clamps
the part number is GC-300 off of weldingsupply website, your LWS part number maybe different cost is about $25. and I have 3/0 cable on the 350P (20 ft)
That clamp is a little more than what you need on a plasma cutter.
I burned my hand once (through the glove) on it when welding 1/2" pipe with 400+ amps. I grabbed it after welding for about 2 hours. But the clamp is now all sorts of pretty colors.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Lincoln Pt 225
Lincoln PM 215
Lincoln Buzz Box

Hypertherm 600
HH125 EZ
MM 350P
TB 302



Quote:
Originally Posted by Shade Tree Welder View Post
Calling an illegal alien an "undocumented immigrant" is like calling a drug dealer an unlicensed pharmacist.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.