Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   

Old 02-18-2019, 04:44 PM

Default Is this salvageable? If so, please advise. Ugly Tig weld

I had a stainless keg cnc machined for precise holes to have stainless ferrules sanitary Tig welded in place for a unitank to be used in beer fermentation. I'm no expert, but I think I paid a welder who never should have taken this on.
Is there anything that can be done to fix the welds? Clean and passivate? Or scrap it
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190218_143404945.jpg
Views:	230
Size:	149.4 KB
ID:	149509   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190218_143353278.jpg
Views:	206
Size:	141.6 KB
ID:	149510   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190218_143308813.jpg
Views:	181
Size:	179.8 KB
ID:	149511   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190218_143139790_TOP.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	186.3 KB
ID:	149512   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190218_143129142.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	187.5 KB
ID:	149513  

Old 02-18-2019, 06:03 PM

Default Is this salvageable? If so, please advise. Ugly Tig weld

Is there any way to clean and salvage this work?
This is for a unitank fermentor. Used in home brewing. I've got a bad feeling I wasted money on this weld job.
Any advice would be awesome
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190218_143404945.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	149.4 KB
ID:	149514   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190218_143337834.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	146.6 KB
ID:	149515   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190218_143353278.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	141.6 KB
ID:	149516   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190218_143259830.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	196.8 KB
ID:	149517   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190218_143129142.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	187.5 KB
ID:	149518  

Old 02-18-2019, 06:11 PM

Wait, you paid someone for that?