Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Mechanical & Electrical

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2020, 10:03 AM
Randyjaco's Avatar
Randyjaco Randyjaco is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Friendswood, TX
Posts: 651
Question Help with a Trajan Bandsaw

I am in the midst of a restoration of Trajan 1018 bandsaw. It's Chinese and they don't make them anymore I have been searching the Internet for days and can find very little information. Evidently, the Trajan bandsaw company is no more. I downloaded a manual off the Web, but it just shows the parts list/diagram. I desperately need a wiring diagram. I could also use some information on filling and bleeding the hydraulic cylinder. Also if you have a picture of how the blade cleaning brush mounts lt would really be helpful.
Thanks, any info/ leads would be helpful, as I am now in assembly mode.
__________________
"There are three and only three ways to reform our Congressional legislation, familiarly called, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box" (Frederick Douglass)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2020, 01:24 PM
greywynd's Avatar
greywynd greywynd is offline
I can dig it
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wainwright, Alberta
Posts: 5,465
Default

Maybe post some pics of the saw, often they are sold under various names, there may be another saw the same with info available.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-14-2020, 01:36 PM
Scotts's Avatar
Scotts Scotts is offline
Stuff, Just stuff
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 5,339
Default

Oh man a challenge!!

How about some pictures of what you have and where you are with the electrical stuff.

Most small bandsaws are a toggle switch for off and on. It this is a monster with auto feed auto vise and such it will need a few more items.

Should not be too difficult, (shhh, don't let it hear me type that)

It is probably a copy of something and we can adapt.

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2020, 02:04 PM
digr's Avatar
digr digr is offline
The Real Deal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Duluth MN
Posts: 8,676
Default

I found their website but both IE and Firefox tell me not to go there
__________________
Drawing by Smartdraw
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2020, 07:33 PM
Randyjaco's Avatar
Randyjaco Randyjaco is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Friendswood, TX
Posts: 651
Default

I got the saw several months ago. It was not running. I have since disassembled, cleaned, painted, and begun reassembly. It is a 3 phase machine and both motors run well. I am still waiting on a blade and some switches, which should be here in a couple of weeks. I took a lot of pictures of the wiring, etc., but the starter is a mystery. There were also a couple of disconnected wires. I am electrically challenged, so I am a little leary of plugging in wires and powering her up with 220 three-phase It is a tad bit over my competency level.
Hopfully these pictures will load?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20201214_090550.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	201.6 KB
ID:	158812   Click image for larger version

Name:	20201214_090522.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	204.6 KB
ID:	158813  
__________________
"There are three and only three ways to reform our Congressional legislation, familiarly called, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box" (Frederick Douglass)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2020, 08:10 PM
Scotts's Avatar
Scotts Scotts is offline
Stuff, Just stuff
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 5,339
Default

That is a fine looking job there.

Let’s start with a couple things.

Two motors. I will venture a guess one is for the blade. What is the other one for? Coolant or hydraulics?

What kind of switches did you get?

Ok a picture where your starters are and do you have a transformer in there as well?

This will tell us if you have low voltage controls or line voltage control.

If you have momentary buttons you may have a 3 wire start stop setup.

If you have maintained switches you may have a 2 wire start stop setup.

Either way we can help you out with all that.

Scott




Sent from my iPhone using ShopFloorTalk mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-14-2020, 08:43 PM
digr's Avatar
digr digr is offline
The Real Deal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Duluth MN
Posts: 8,676
Default

Can you take a pic of the brush? I would think that if you removed the hose in the picture and put in hydraulic fluid and loosen the other then raise the saw should get you started like bleeding breaks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	saw.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	200.2 KB
ID:	158815  
__________________
Drawing by Smartdraw
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-14-2020, 09:05 PM
Scotts's Avatar
Scotts Scotts is offline
Stuff, Just stuff
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 5,339
Default

How is this for a manual?

https://boltontool.com/pdf/BS-1018B.pdf

There are several pages of electrical schematics covering the options.

See if you see any that look like it fits.


I’ll go for the 220v 60hz 3 phase page.

Scott


Sent from my iPhone using ShopFloorTalk mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-14-2020, 10:39 PM
toprecycler's Avatar
toprecycler toprecycler is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 5,190
Default

That is very similar to my saw at work. I believe it is a Jet.

I had to just reseal the Hydraulics valve on it. And it was a pain in the A$$. The piston inside the cylinder has a check valve (I believe, but did not tear it down to verify) that allows the fluid to bypass when you lift the saw up. When you release the saw, it should stay right where you put it, if you have the valves shut. If it bounces, you have an air bubble in the line. The way to fill it is a small plug in the side of the valve.

You need to remove the valve from the panel so you can raise the side of the valve with the plug to the top. I used an old plastic bottle with a small spout and filled it with hydraulic fluid.

I forgot exactly how I did it, but I think I closed the variable speed valve, opened the on/off flow valve, then raised the saw( pulled the rod out). (I actually removed the cylinder and valve setup without removing the hoses, and set it up in my lathe, where I clamped the valve up high, and could use the carriage to push the rod in and out easily.)

Close the on/off valve, which should be a 1/4 turn valve. Now push the rod in. As you do, open the variable valve. Oil and air will flow back into the bottle. Close the variable valve. You will have created an vacuum on the other side, so when you open the on/off valve, oil will be sucked back into that line as you continue to press the rod back into the cylinder.

When the oil stops going in, close that valve. Then pull the rod back out. This will fill the cylinder with fresh oil via the bypass valve in the piston. Push the rod back into the cylinder, and open the variable flow valve again to let the air bubbles back out. It is important to always keep the fill plug hole filled with oil, but allow air to escape. But you want to make sure that only oil goes back in.

If you do not get all the air out, the saw will bounce up and down during cutting, and is very hard on blades then.

When I got done, I think I actually had a bit of pressure in the lines by creating a vacuum to suck the oil in.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6136.JPG
Views:	52
Size:	173.5 KB
ID:	158823Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6137.JPG
Views:	44
Size:	192.1 KB
ID:	158824Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6138.JPG
Views:	45
Size:	154.9 KB
ID:	158825


Sent from my iPhone using ShopFloorTalk
__________________
Brian

You don't know what you don't know.

"It's what you learn after you know it all that counts." John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-15-2020, 07:52 PM
Randyjaco's Avatar
Randyjaco Randyjaco is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Friendswood, TX
Posts: 651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scotts View Post
How is this for a manual?

https://boltontool.com/pdf/BS-1018B.pdf

There are several pages of electrical schematics covering the options.

See if you see any that look like it fits.


I’ll go for the 220v 60hz 3 phase page.

Scott


Sent from my iPhone using ShopFloorTalk mobile app

Thanks Scott!
It appears that a Bolton and a Trajan are the same saw. That will help immensely.

Randy
__________________
"There are three and only three ways to reform our Congressional legislation, familiarly called, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box" (Frederick Douglass)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.