Shop Floor Talk

Shop Floor Talk (https://www.shopfloortalk.com/forums/index.php)
-   Welding (https://www.shopfloortalk.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Thinking About a Used Stick Welder (https://www.shopfloortalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=50758)

threepiece 04-05-2019 07:05 AM

Thinking About a Used Stick Welder

1 Attachment(s)
I may have an opportunity to buy a welder somewhat like the one shown below. I need to check the power requirements but I may be able to return it for a refund if it doesn't work as I don't know anything about it.

I want another welder to use at a build site for some structural welding on a barn I am building. I have no experience with stick welding but am proficient at MIG welding. This welder is bigger and more elaborate than what I had in mind but one can't always choose what opportunity comes their way. Is a welder like this something you more experienced fellows would consider if in a situation like mine?

I'm going to look at it again today, take pictures and possibly develop a purchase agreement.

Thanks to all for any input.

toprecycler 04-05-2019 09:18 AM

That should be a heck of a nice welder. I ran one like that a couple jobs back, mostly for tig welding. Ran a pretty smooth arc, especially for old school transformer machine. Ran a water cooled torch without a cooler. Just had the torch hooked up to a water line that had to turn on, and then the water dumped into the drain.

One time, forgot to turn the water on, and the hose melted inside the torch body. Cut off a couple inches, and put a new tie wire on, and good to go again.

Sent from my iPhone using ShopFloorTalk

LKeithR 04-05-2019 12:10 PM

That will be a constant current machine for sure but I'm wondering if it also runs constant voltage? Can't see from the picture. The CC gives you stick and tig, you'd need CV to run a mig gun. What are they asking for it?

threepiece 04-05-2019 02:14 PM

1 Attachment(s)