Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Fabrication

SFT Search:   

Old 03-12-2013, 10:42 PM

Default cnc plasma cut part

A fellow brought in a part from a vacuum truck that he wanted me to copy and make for him, the old plate was made out of 1/16" and he wanted the new one made from 1/4", he supplied the new metal plate. I drew the pattern in Corel draw, ran it threw sheet cam and while in there set the cut sequence so the torch wouldn't pass over pieces already cut to avoid tip ups.. This is my first attempt at cnc cutting 1/4" plate, I used a 80 amp nozzle set at 80 amps on my 1250 hypertherm and ran it at 105" per minute as the their recommended settings.

http://youtu.be/uKdBsENWdek

http://youtu.be/b6dGMw9V8CI

Since this was my first attempt at ¼” plate I decided to give myself 3 test cuts before cutting the actually part, the cuts were ok so I went ahead and cut the rest out, sorry for the shaky video, I was multi-tasking and nervous as I haven’t used my machine since last summer. I always like to add some water while cutting as it helps keep down the smoke, especially using 80 amp

http://youtu.be/nDG23gKmxkQ

http://youtu.be/P0XkPFXRi1o

The finished part:

http://youtu.be/r9s-Lmx41UA

EDD
King 7x12 Metal Bandsaw
Ridgid 12" Compound Miter saw
Ridgid 10" table saw
Ridgid 15" Drill Press
Old 03-12-2013, 11:13 PM

Edd,
I've never used a cnc plasma, but I still have a question. Why wouldn't you start the cut of each small hole in the hole to be cut out as opposed to the edge of the holes.
Josh
Very nice job, I enjoyed watching.
Old 03-13-2013, 12:05 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ephotrod View Post
Edd,
I've never used a cnc plasma, but I still have a question. Why wouldn't you start the cut of each small hole in the hole to be cut out as opposed to the edge of the holes.
Josh
Thanks Josh