PDA

View Full Version : BBQ Rotisserie mechanisms

fmed
08-29-2005, 01:46 PM
Hi All...

First post here. I'm a total novice to fabrication, but I'd like to get my hands dirty on a pig roaster (not a southern style smoker, more or a Latin American/Filipino style Lechon roaster). It will probably use fabricated propane pipe burners.

My main design hurdle is the actual motorized mechanism for rotating the pig. I don't really want to buy an expensive gear-motor unit such as:
http://www.electricmotorwarehouse.com/rotisserie_motor.htm

I have a couple of surplus electric motors (1725 rpm. 3/4 hp, I believe). I plan to use an DIY electronic AC motor controller to get the speed down to about 10% (170 rpm)....that is still way too fast...it should be down to less than 10 rpm (the slower the better).. I'm thinking of then using (building?) a V-belt or chain reducer.

If anyone has any tips/plans/pictures of how they have devised such a thing, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you all!

fatfrank
08-29-2005, 02:20 PM
I have never built a rotisserie, but from what I hear the optimum RPM is about 1 RPM. Take photos of the build so we can check it out.

boilerman
08-29-2005, 03:21 PM
the ones i use are 110v ...it puts out 6 turns a minute at 110 inch pounds but i got it going to a larger sprocket on the spit and gear it down to 2 or 3 turns a minute...i can spin a 150 lbs pig no problem
you may also find this site interesting
http://www.3men.com/

fmed
08-29-2005, 03:50 PM
@fatfrank - Yes, my research also tells me that the ideal rotation speed is about 1 rpm....I have been racking my brains on how to do this without spending big money on a speed reducer gearbox or gear motor. I might have to resign myself to that fact. I found a place that sells a speed reducer gearbox for about $200 CAD (about $150 USD). I will post photos once I get started.

@boilerman - Does your motor have a gearbox built-in? Where did you get it? Do you have photos? Thanks for the 3men link.